Itchin’ On A Photograph

I have decided that I love Starbucks.  I know this makes me a stereotypical human but I do. Their banana bread is to die for and they do a decent cup of tea.  They also offer free wifi which makes life easier all round if you don’t have an internet package.  The irony is that I don’t drink coffee of any variety: not caramel versions, iced versions, French roasts or Guatemalan.  I really don’t like coffee.  When I was a university student I desperately tried to acquire a taste for the beverage in the hope that it would help me stay awake during long nights studying but it never happened.  So I don’t drink it, which, here in the States is almost a sacrilege since everyone walks around with a coffee cup in their hands.

Yesterday I went out to do some shopping since I am now desperately fed up of wearing the same four t-shirts I brought with me.  I chose two new ones and a pair of skinny jeans. And a very bright pink umbrella as it is going to rain over the weekend and I’m going to be out on the streets because of this photography workshop.  After much wandering through the French Quarter, popping into shops and trying things on I concluded that I’d shopped enough and there, almost like a mirage, was Starbucks, calling me in, sirenlike.  I ordered and sat down for a bit.  It’s a great place to people watch too.  So I entertained myself for a bit looking around and then went through emails and texts relating to the course.

I’m all set for this now.  I leave the apartment shortly to go and register for it (headquarters are in a rather posh hotel in the Quarter) and then we have an introduction by the course leader, a National Geographic photojournalist, followed by dinner.  I think we do some light photography today but not too much.  It’s more a getting to know you and theory day.  I’m looking forward to this whole long weekend as it’s always interesting to see someone, who’s at the top of their field, work and have the opportunity to pick their brains and chat with them about the different assignments and experiences they’ve had in their professional life.  I’ll let you know a little more when I know a little more.  In all, there are ten participants (including myself) and two instructors and we’ll be covering a wide area of New Orleans in our photography outings. These are going to be rather packed days to come.

After I left Starbucks yesterday I walked to Jackson Square again – I really like this small area and I have found myself returning here a few times.  There’s a lot of movement and activity here and there always seems to be music playing.  I have a bench that has almost become “mine” and I sat there for a bit, admiring the views around me.  You may be wondering why on earth you’re not getting any photos at the moment and it’s because I have been deliberately leaving my camera behind when going out for walks.  It’s almost like I don’t want to photograph anything in the Quarter before the course because I know a large part of what we’ll be focusing on in the course is in this district.  I almost want to see these streets through fresh “camera” eyes when I begin the workshop.  That may sound absolutely idiotic, I do understand.  And, by now, I’m really wanting to take photographs!

So, I’ve charged the camera’s battery, I’ve packed my bag with stuff I may need and I’m getting myself dressed to leave soon.  Let’s see what the group’s like and how impressive the instructor is.  I’m a little concerned about my theory knowledge – what I produce with the camera tends to be trial and error for a large number of my pictures; I keep adjusting until I find the result I want rather than immediately knowing what I have to set things to to produce what I want. – but it’s too late now to change things by much.  I’ve revised the important stuff and I hope it’ll be enough.  You just don’t know, when reading their information and guidelines, how much knowledge is considered as “enough” by them in order to be able to merit your place here.

I’m hoping that time will allow me to keep posting as normal over these next few days but I’m not totally sure it’s going to be possible.  I’ll do my best to keep you in the loop on a daily basis but if not, my apologies and I’ll revert to normal as soon as I can.  It’ll get more exciting from here on, promise 🙂

E x

1 thought on “Itchin’ On A Photograph

Leave a comment